Potato Samosas

OMG these were delicious and I accidentally insulted Arbor (he made them).  So at first he said it was a curry and told me the ingredients and it sounded fine, but nothing fantastic.  Then he told me he was going to fry them!  Everything is better once you fry it.  And my mistake was telling him I thought this.

I ate like 7 of these.  Really I need to try to make them.  Originally, it looked like we had a ton, we used a whole package of wonton wrappers!  But we ate them all without even trying that hard.

This is the process of making them.  Or at least one of the stages.  I was really bad at making them.  I gave up after two, since other people were doing so much better.  Not giving up, I promise. :)

Potato Samosas

This recipe was made by my friend Arbor.  He adapted the recipe from allrecipes.com.

Ingredients:

  • 4 baking potatoes, diced
  • 3/4 cup diced yellow onions
  • 1/2 cup peas
  • 1 container Thai Kitchen Yellow Curry
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 packet of wonton wrappers
  • canola oil for frying
  • cumin, to taste
  • red pepper flakes, to taste
  • salt, to taste
  • black pepper, to taste
  • curry powder, to taste

Directions:

1. Dice the potatoes into 1/2 inch cubes, boil them up to soften.

2. Cook the potatoes and diced onions in a deep skillet over medium heat, stirring consistently, for 10-15 minutes.

3. Add the peas and curry sauce, and cook them all together for about 5 minutes.

4. Remove from heat and allow to cool.  Add spices.

5. Wrap filling with 2 wonton wrappers, ravioli style.  Fill a large skillet half way with canola oil.  Once it is hot add the samosas one at a time and fry until they are brown.  Let them cool a bit and then enjoy.

Leave a Reply

