Cinnamon Pecan Coffee Cake

I had a brunch!!!  It was so much fun!!  OMG, even in my tiny apartment.  We were tight, but we all fit.  Even with the cats. :)  That is a picture of everyone in my kitchen.  According to my mom, a one butt kitchen!  Believe me, you do not want to cook with all those people in the kitchen.  I don’t think you could move!

This cake made me worry so much!  I kept taking it out of the oven and testing it and it wasn’t done.  And lets just say that I need to work on my swirling.  There was quite a lot of swirl at the bottom of my cake.  Oh well.  Live and learn.

But it tasted delicious.  And this is not a one bowl cake or a fast cake.  I love my Kiss My Bundt cookbook.  But these are not simple recipes.  They require a lot of bowls and a lot of time.  But they are so worth it!  Amazingly delicious.

Cinnamon Pecan Coffee Cake

This recipe is slightly adapted from Kiss My Bundt by Chrysta Wilson.

Ingredients

Cake

  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup whole milk
  • 1 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 3 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 3 eggs

Swirl

  • 3/4 cup pecans, finely chopped
  • 1 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons cinnamon

Direction

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease a bundt pan.

2. Stir together vanilla, milk and sour cream.  Set aside.

3. In a small bowl mix the swirl ingredients.  Set aside.

4. Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  Set aside.

5. Beat butter with an electric mixer and slowly add sugars.  Beat until fluffy.  Add eggs one at a time.

6. Next beginning and ending with flour, add 1/3 of the flour into the butter mixture.  Next add 1/2 of the milk and sour cream mixture, alternating between the two mixtures.

7. Pour 1/3 of the batter into a bundt pan (be careful the swirl is important and 1/3 of the batter is not a lot of batter).  Next add half of the swirl mixture.  Next add batter, swirl, and then last batter.

8.  Bake in the oven for approx 55 minutes.  Check with a tester to make sure it comes out clean.  (The swirl becomes wet during the baking, so be sure to stick your tester into the batter not the swirl.)

9. Invert the cake onto a cooling rack or serving plate.  And eat up!!

One thought on “Cinnamon Pecan Coffee Cake

  1. ha! sad I missed the kitchen photo–you guys look amazingly squished! Everyone, Sheila is not lying about this cake. It was SO awesome. So SO awesome!

Leave a Reply

