Pan Sautéed Chicken with Appled Brandy Cream

Update: When I ate the leftovers, I had them over rice and that was really nice.  I think I will do that next time I make this.

Sub zero weather has hit Minnesota and I am getting excited for hearty soup.  So I will have a soup recipe soon.  But first I need to use the food already in my pantry.  I had some chicken that needed to be used and then I remembered I made appled brandy this fall.  I have never cooked with appled brandy, or any brandy for that matter, so I was  really curios what it would taste like.

This is a super easy dish to make.  The chopping is probably the hardest part.  This recipe was less flavorful than I wanted.  But all in all a good dish.  Maybe I just need to up an ingredient or two.

The original recipe does not specify what type of meat to use.  I had some chicken around the house, so that’s what I used.  But this might taste better with beef or pork.

Pan Sauteed Chicken with Appled Brandy Cream

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch pieces
  • salt
  • 4 clove garlic, with skins on
  • 2 cups chopped mushrooms, any variety
  • 1/4 cup Appled Brandy
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1  freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

1. Heat the butter and oil in a large skillet over medium heat until sizzling. Generously season the meat with salt and add to the pan with the garlic cloves. Saute on both sides until the meat is brown and cooked to the desired doneness, turning every 2 minutes to cook evenly. Remove the meat and garlic to a warm plate and set aside while you make the sauce.

2. To make the sauce, add the mushrooms to the pan and saute until brown, 5 to 7 minutes. Carefully add the brandy and simmer until reduced to a syrup, about 3 minutes. (If the brandy flares, cover the pan with a lid to extinguish flames.) Add the cream and simmer to thicken, about 3 minutes. Add pepper to taste, spoon over steaks, and serve.

This recipe is from Put ’em Up!: A Comprehensive Home Preserving Guide for the Creative Cook by Sherri Brooks Vinton

Leave a Reply

