Cheesy Pear Cider Bread

I am not a beer fan.  Just not my cup of tea.  So the other night I was out with a friend and we were looking at the drinks menu when she said she might try their pear cider.  My response “What!  There is such a thing as pear cider?!”

So I tried one.  It was fabulous and then I knew I wanted to cook with it.  I really like bread and had been looking for a yummy recipe to put up here.  It was a match made in heaven.

But none of the recipes say cider, they are all made with beer or both at best.  I was not sure if you could just interchange the two.  Lucky for me you can!  This bread is so thick and dense and warm.  The perfect winter pick me up.  I totally recommend it!

Cheesy Pear Cider Bread

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 cup white cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 12 fl oz pear cider
  • 1/2 cup melted butter

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Butter a 9 x 5 inch loaf pan.

3. In a large bowl sift the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt together. Add cheese and mix with a wooden spoon.

4. Add cider and mix until incorporated. Don’t over mix.

5. Pour half of the melted butter into the bottom of the prepared pan. Spoon batter into pan. Top batter with remaining butter.

6. Bake for 50 minutes or until a wooden skewer comes out clean.

This recipe was adapted from Culinary Concoctions by Peabody.

Leave a Reply

