Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce

This was not my idea.  A friend of mine was coming over and she had some squash and wanted to make something out of it.  I am trying to broaden my horizons.  So we looked at recipes and found something that sounded good.

It wasn’t half bad.  My friend really liked it.  I think I will play with the spices a little.  I really liked the fried sage on top.  It added a nice crispness.  The sauce was super thick so I might add more water or yogurt.  I don’t know.  I will have to experiment.

But all in all a nice dish.  A different twist on pasta sauce than I have ever tried before.  I look forward to making this for my dad.  He is the one who loves squash in my family.

Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 pounds butternut squash, peeled, cored, and cut into 1 1/2 inch cubes
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1/3 cup sour cream or Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 12 medium sage leaves

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a roasting pan, toss the butternut squash cubes, 2 tbsp olive oil, 1 tsp salt and 1 tsp black pepper together until the squash is evenly coated. Roast the squash for 45 minutes, giving them a stir with a spatula every 15 minutes until the squash is fork-tender.

2. Remove from the oven and place the butternut squash in a medium saucepan. Add water and use immersion blender to puree (a blender or food processor will work as well). Puree until smooth.

3. Put the squash puree on low heat. Stir in the Parmesan cheese, Greek yogurt, nutmeg, and salt to taste. You don’t want it to boil (and you don’t want the cheese to melt into a giant clump), just heat the sauce.

4. Meanwhile, melt the unsalted butter in a small pan on high heat. When hot, place the fresh age leaves in a single layer in the butter and fry. Turn them over after 30 seconds and continue to fry until crisp. Remove from pan.

5. Serve the butternut squash sauce over any pasta and sprinkle parmesan, salt and black pepper on top. Garnish with 3 fried sage leaves.

This recipe is from use real butter.

One thought on “Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce

  1. I am so surprised! Did you really eat a full serving of this? I like squash too. You could make it for me or make it for your dad and bring over any leftovers. I am impressed that you are broadening your horizons like this. You Go Girl!

Leave a Reply

