Cheese Crackers

I can’t decide how I feel about these.  They taste just like Cheese Its.  They have a bit more kick, but that’s adjustable.  I just can’t decide if the effort to make them is worth the pay off?  My coworker thought so, she ate half my batch and asked for the recipe.

I lessened the amount of bread crumbs in the recipe, because I had a lot of trouble keeping them together and not having them crumble.  I think next time I will try different cheese combos.  See what I can get out of these little bite size snacks.

Update: Instead of using a 1/2 tsp to make all the crackers you could instead roll the dough into a log and refrigerate it and then slice off discs. I think I will try that next time.

Cheese Crackers

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour, sifted
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, grated
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (or more to taste)
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika (or more to taste)
  • 3/4 cup bread crumbs

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line cookie sheet with parchment.

2. Put flour, butter, cheese, cayenne, paprika and salt into food processor and pulse til completely blended and a ball forms. Taste for seasoning and adjust.

3. Add bread crumbs and process in small pulses (as few as possible) to incorporate into dough.

4. Scoop small balls of dough (about 1/2 teaspoon) and roll in the palm of your hand. Place on cookie sheet and flatten with fork and spatula.

5. Bake at 350 degrees F for 10 minutes until the bottom is lightly browned and the crispettes are cooked through.

6. Remove from cookie sheet and cool on wire rack.

Recipe is adapted from Elephant Eats.

4 thoughts on “Cheese Crackers

  1. Aw, so glad you tried this recipe! I believe you had trouble with the breadcrumbs because the recipe calls for Panko breadcrumbs which are not regular breadcrumbs, and are much lighter. Please adjust the way your recipe is written or say that it is “adapted” from mine if you are going to use regular breadcrumbs. Thanks🙂

    Also, I found it a pain to rolls so many little balls, but a commenter on my blog suggested rolling the dough into a log and refrigerating it and then slicing off discs. I’m going to try that next time!

      • 🙂 Definitely try them again if you have the patience. I ended up kind of kneading the dough after the food processor did its part.

        P.S. I love the cat tail in your pic, hehe. My cat always manages to get into my food pictures too!

Leave a Reply

