Pad Thai

I love pad thai!  It is one of my favorite dishes.  This is only the second time I have made it and every time I make it, it is very spicy.  Not in an overwhelming way, but in a every bite it gets more intense and by bite 6 your like wow I need some milk.

 

At the Seward Co-op, which I love, they had Mango Lime Chicken Sausage.  And I just had to try it.  I thought it would go well with pad thai and it did.  It was not spicy and had a nice mild effect on my palate after the spiciness of the sauce.

 

Also, one side note, I did not have enough of the green veggies.  So I put some in but not a lot at all.  I really wanted to make the dish.  I left the recipe as my friend Kelsey gave it to me so these are recommended allotments not the amount you see in the picture, which is basically nothing.

Pad Thai

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons tamarind paste
  • 3/4 cup boiling water
  • 3 tablespoons fish sauce
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 4 tablespoons peanut/vegetable oil
  • 8 ounces dried stick noodles
  • 2 large eggs
  • 12 ounces chicken, or any other type of meat or tofu you prefer
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 mediam shallot, minced
  • 6 tablespoons peanuts, chopped
  • 3 cups of bean sprouts
  • 5 green scallions
  • 1/4 cup cilantro leaves
  • 1 lime wedge
  • salt

Directions:

1. Rehydrate tamarind paste in 2/3 cup boiling water.  Stir in fish sauce, vinegar, sugar, cayenne, 2 tbsp oil and set aside.

2. Cover rice sticks with hot water in large bowl; soak until soft (about 20 minutes).  Drain noodles and set aside.

3. Beat eggs and 1/8 tsp salt in a small bowl, set aside.

4. Heat 1 tsp oil in 12 inch skillet/wok over high heat until it just begins to smoke.  Add diced chicken and 1/8 tsp salt; cook and toss until golden brown.  Transfer chicken to plate.

5. Off heat, add 1 tbsp oil and swirl to coat wok.  Add minced garlic, shallots and set wok to medium heat.  Stir constantly until lightly brown.

6. Add beaten eggs to skillet and stir vigorously until scrambled.

7. Add rice noodles and chicken to skillet.  Pour in fish sauce mixture and increase heat to high.  Stir constantly until evenly coated.  Take off heat.

8. Add peanuts, sprouts, green scallions and toss.

9. Squeeze in limes and toss.

This recipe is from my friend Kelsey.

Leave a Reply

