Fried Rice

I went over to my friend Annie’s house the other day and she taught me to make fried rice (Annie from the origami fun a while back, she blogs at handspun rainbows).  It was way easier than I expected.  I don’t know exactly what I expected, but it was really easy to make.

We only put mushrooms and onions in, but you can put a bunch of different types of vegetables in it.  Really whatever floats your boat.

One side note: Annie makes fried rice in the tradition of a little of this and a little of that.  Therefore, all the directions and ingredients are very nonspecific.  Just try and see what tastes good to you and add more or less as pleases you.  Good luck!!

Fried Rice

Ingredients:

  • whatever veggies you have on hand.  My friend almost always has mushrooms and onions, but she also uses broccoli, zuchini, carrots, eggplant a lot too
  • 3 cups of rice
  • soy sauce to taste
  • a few pinches of salt
  • a decent splash of oil
  • 4 eggs

Directions:

1. Cook rice according to the directions.

2. Chop onions and mushrooms.

3. Cover the skillet with oil, turn it to high heat, let it sit until the skillet has warmed up.

4. Put onions in the skillet cook for a little while.  Next put in the mushrooms.  Cook until they have browned.  Next push the onions and mushrooms to one side of the skillet.  Afterward put the eggs in the skillet and scramble.  When the eggs are almost done add the onions and mushrooms to it.  Add a pinch of salt.

5. Add rice and a healthy dash of salt.  Stirring constantly, cook for a while.

6. Add soy sauce stir until evenly coated and then take off heat and serve.

6 thoughts on “Fried Rice

  1. I LOVE friend rice, although I feel like making it without carrots or fresh green peas is almost as bad as cardinal sin. Like, if you were Catholic. If you can imagine that (I can’t.)

    I also add my eggs and everything else AFTER I put my rice in, and I always find better success with leftover rice. I sometimes make rice the night before and refrigerate it just so it is “left-over” the next day.

Leave a Reply

