The Hunger Games: Peeta’s Bread (Hazelnut Raisin Corn Bread)

This is an ongoing series of food related to The Hunger Games, here are the links to the other recipes- bakery bread with blackberries and goat cheese, pancakes in the Capitol, lunch with Cinna, District 11 bread (crescent rolls with seeds), Mellark’s Apple and Goat Cheese Tarts, Goose Liver and Puffy Bread, Lamb Stew with Dried Plums, Cake on Fire, Hot Chocolate,

His mother was yelling, “Feed it to the pig, you stupid creature!  Why not?  No one decent will buy burned bread!”

He began to tear off chucks from the burned parts and toss them into the trough, and the front bakery bell rung and the mother disappeared to help a customer.

The boy never even glanced my way, but I was watching him.  Because of the bread, because of the red weal that stood out on his cheekbone.  What had she hit him with?  My parents never hit us.  I couldn’t even imagine it.  The boy took one look back to the bakery as if checking that the coast is clear, then, his attention back to the pig, he threw a loaf of bread in my direction.  The second quickly followed, and he sloshed back to the bakery, closing the kitchen door tightly behind him.

I stared at the loaves in disbelief.  They were fine, perfect really, except for the burned areas.  Did he mean for me to have them?  He must have.  Because there they were at my feet.  Before anyone could witness what had happened I shoved the loaves up under my shirt, wrapped the hunting jacket tightly about me, and walked swiftly away.  The heat of the bread burned into my skin, but I clutched it tighter, clinging to life.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, p 30

I love The Hunger Games and after making food from Harry Potter, I thought it would be super fun to make stuff from The Hunger Games!!  Especially because the movie is coming up and this is how I am going to prepare myself!  The plan is to make two recipes from The Hunger Games every week until the movie comes out.  I am pretty excited!

This is one of the most memorable meals in the book.  Katniss and her family are starving and Peeta gives her some bread right when she is about to give up.  I have high expectation for this bread!  But it has raisins in it, so I do not know how good it will be to me.

Also, they describe the bread as hearty.  I imagine hearty breads to be whole wheat or rye, some kind of dark bread.  However, raisin bread recipes are not normally in dark breads.  So when my mom found this recipe, I thought it would be a good way to add heartiness to the bread.  You put creamed corn in the bread so it does not taste like a traditional corn bread, but it has a very interesting flavor.

Hazelnut Raisin Corn Bread

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup boiling water
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2  eggs
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt (1/8)
  • 14 ounces cream-stlye corn
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped hazelnuts

Directions:

1. Place the raisins in a bowl; add boiling water. Cover and let stand for 10 minutes; drain. In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar; add eggs.

2. Combine the flour, baking soda and salt; add to creamed mixture. Stir in the corn, nuts and raisins.

3. Pour into two greased loaf pans. Bake at 350 degrees F for 60-70 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

4. Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks.

This recipe is adapted from All Recipes.

One thought on “The Hunger Games: Peeta’s Bread (Hazelnut Raisin Corn Bread)

  1. I wonder if they make cups that have dandelions on them? This is my favorite part of the book. What a difference one act of kindness can make in the world. Wow!! The mom sounds like a witch. Any idea who is playing her in the movie?

Leave a Reply

