Produce Sale: Habanero Peppers- Cheesy Turkey Meatballs

Produce Sale is an ongoing series.  What happens is I go to the grocery store or the farmer’s market and find vegetables or fruit that are on sale or super cheap and regardless of whether I have ever cooked with it before, I buy it and find a recipe for it.

Remember how I bought all those habanero peppers?  I used one to make Caribbean Chicken Breasts.  I still have a few.

I decided to make meatballs.  I really like meatballs and they make a big batch, so I have food for a few days.  Normally, I put red pepper flakes in these meatballs, but this time I used one of those habanero peppers.

It was not too spicy.  In fact, I think it is spicier with the red pepper flakes.  I really enjoyed this meal.  The Alfredo sauce is just a store bought sauce.  I will have to work on that one of these days, but for now I am very happy with heating sauce up for a bit and then presto lunch.  :)

Cheesy Turkey Meatballs

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup cream cheese
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1 tbsp dry bread crumbs
  • 1 habanero pepper, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions:

1. Preheat an oven to 450 degrees F.  Line a rimmed baking sheet with aluminum foil.

2. Combine the turkey, eggs, cream cheese, garlic, Parmesan cheese, bread crumbs, pepper, Italian seasonings, vegetable oil, salt and pepper in a large bowl; mix well.  Form into 20 meatballs, about 1 tablespoon scoops.  Place on prepared pan.

3. Bake in the center of the oven until juices run clear, 17-18 minutes.  An instant read thermometer should read at least 165 degrees F.

Leave a Reply

