The Hunger Games: District 11 Bread (Crescent Rolls with Seeds)

This is an ongoing series of food related to The Hunger Games, here are the links to the other recipes- Peeta’s raisin nut bread, the bakery bread Katniss and Gale ate in the woods, the Capitol pancakeslunch with Cinna (chicken in orange sauce),Mellark’s Apple and Goat Cheese Tarts, Goose Liver and Puffy Bread, Lamb Stew and Dried Plums, Cake on Fire, Hot Chocolate,

I open the parachute and find a small loaf of bread.  It’s not the fine white Capitol stuff.  It’s made of dark ration grain and shaped in a crescent.  Sprinkled with seeds.  I flashback to Peeta’s lesson on the various district breads in the Training Center.  This bread came from District 11.  I cautiously lift the still warm loaf.  What must it have cost the people of District 11 who can’t even feed themselves?  How many would’ve had to go without to scrape up a coin to put in the collection for this one loaf?  It had been meant for Rue, surely.  But instead of pulling the gift when she died, they’d authorized Haymitch to give it to me. As a thank-you?  Or because, like me, they don’t like to let debts go unpaid?  For whatever reason, this is a first.  A district gift to a tribute who’s not your own. 

I lift my face and step into the last falling rays of sunlight.  “My thanks to the people of District Eleven,” I say.  I want them to know I know where it came from.  That the full value of their gift has been recognized.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, Katniss, p 239

This is such a great moment in the book.  I love Rue and Katniss working together, strategizing.  I am not going to say any more.  I have already told you too much as it is.  So I made crescent rolls.

This was an interesting recipe.  When we first made the dough, it was super sticky!  We had to add so much flour to make it something we could work with.  Also, I would divide the dough into more parts next time.  The crescents were huge, delicious, but I had to share one with my friend, because I could not finish the whole thing.

And I am sorry I don’t have more photos.  I took these photos a few weeks ago and ALL the other photos are at the most bizarre angles.  I don’t know what I was thinking.

Crescent Rolls with Seeds

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/3 cups water (warmed to 120 degrees F)
  • 1 package of yeast (or 2 1/4 tsp)
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons table salt
  • 2 tablespoons ground flax seed
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oatmeal
  • 3 cups wheat flour
  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds (plus more to sprinkle on top)
  • 1 tablespoon sesame (plus more to sprinkle on top)
  • 1 egg (beaten for egg wash)

Directions:

1. Mix water, yeast, molasses, oil, salt, ground flax seed, and oatmeal in a large mixing bowl.

2. Mix 2 3/4 cup of wheat flour, all purpose flour, sunflower seeds, and sesame seeds in a separate bowl. Reserve 1/4 cup of wheat flour for dusting later.

3. Add 4 1/2 cups of the flour mixture to the wet ingredients. Beat with a wooden spoon for 5 minutes.

4. Mix and knead in the remaining flour mixture until the dough becomes soft and elastic.

5. Place dough in a lightly greased bowl. Cover with plastic wrap and let rise until double in volume (about 1 hour).

6. Heat oven to 375 degrees F.

7. Punch down dough.

8. Divide dough into 4-ounce pieces.

9. Form each piece into a triangle and roll into a crescent shape. Start from the wide end of the triangle and roll toward the tip.

10. Cover the crescents with plastic wrap and let rise until almost double in size (about 20 minutes).

11. Coat the crescents with egg wash and sprinkle with sunflower and sesame seeds.

12. Bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown, rotating baking pan half way through.

3 thoughts on “The Hunger Games: District 11 Bread (Crescent Rolls with Seeds)

  1. I love this part of the book. Katniss gets it right away and understands the importance of the gift and immediately acknowledges it. I must say I forgot where Peeta gave katniss a lesson on district breads. I’m going to have to go back and reread it. Wouldn’t be a good idea to pitch to a bakery to start carrying different districts breads while the Hunger Games craze is happening? Here is an idea. Could you put items in the background that mean something to the movie but would be easy to overlook? Most people wouldn’t even know there meaning, except only the most observant would catch it. Then you could ask if anyone could give the hidden meaning of the background items. An example would be to have the towel in the background have dandelions on it. Maybe I’m just getting excited, but these rolls really bring to life a very cool moment in the movies. Thanks for taking the time to blog about this!

Leave a Reply

