The Hunger Games: Goose Liver and Puffy Bread

This is an ongoing series of food related to The Hunger Games, here are the links to the other recipes- Peeta’s raisin nut bread, the bakery bread Katniss and Gale ate in the woods, the Capitol pancakes, lunch with Cinna (chicken in orange sauce), District 11 bread, Mellark’s apple and goat cheese tarts, lamb stew and dried plums, cake on fire, hot chocolate,

I program the closet for an outfit to my taste.  The windows zoom in and out on parts of the city at my command.  You only need to whisper a type of food from a gigantic menu into a mouthpiece and it appears, hot and steamy, before you in less than a minute.  I walk around the room eating goose liver and puffy bread until there’s a knock on the door.  Effie’s calling me to dinner.

Good. I’m starving.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, Katniss, p 75

This picture is not as perfect as some of my other ones, but there are no pictures of Katniss in the Capitol by herself, unless she is wearing one of Cinna’s creations or shooting an arrow.  Effie is at least mentioned in the quote.

This is foie gras.  Foie gras is the liver of a duck or goose.  It is super fatty and pretty expensive.  But it sounded like a really fun thing to make- and how often am I going to be cooking foie gras, seriously!?!  Please watch this video, she taught me how to cook foie gras.

I think we have different definitions for a simple hamburger.🙂  Cooking the foie gras was very interesting because it was really smoky.  I did not set off my fire alarm, but we still had to open a window, because it looked like a scary movie set in my living room with all the smoke.

To me puffy bread means crescent.  So we made crescent roll dough.  It did not turn out as amazing as my crescent rolls with seeds, but I will try again.

At the end of the day I did not care for the foie gras that much.  Maybe we did not add enough salt?  Or maybe I just needed to add more flavors like the individuals on the video.

Goose Liver and Puffy Bread

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 ounces of foie gras
  • 2 (.25 ounce) packages active dry yeast
  • 3/4 cup warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened

Directions:

1. Dissolve yeast in warm water.

2. Stir in sugar, salt, eggs, shortening, and 2 cups of flour. Beat until smooth. Mix in remaining flour until smooth. Scrape dough from side of bowl. Knead dough, then cover it and let rise in a warm place until double (about 1-1/2 hours).

3. Punch down dough. Divide in half. Roll each half into a 12-inch circle. Spread with butter. Cut into 10 to 15 wedge. Roll up the wedges starting with the wide end. Place rolls with point under on a greased baking sheet. Cover and let rise until double (about 1 hour).

4. Cook foie gras.  30 seconds on both sides.  See video above for more specific instructions.

5. Bake at 400 degrees F (205 degrees C) for 12-15 minute or until golden brown. Brush tops with butter when they come out.

The crescent recipe is from allrecipes.com

Leave a Reply

