The Hunger Games: Lamb Stew with Dried Plums

This is an ongoing series of food related to The Hunger Games, here are the links to the other recipes- Peeta’s raisin nut bread, the bakery bread Katniss and Gale ate in the woods, the Capitol pancakes, lunch with Cinna (chicken in orange sauce), District 11 bread, Mellark’s apple and goat cheese tarts, goose liver and puffy bread, cake on fire, hot chocolate,

Our lips have just barely touched when the clunk outside makes us jump.  My bow comes up, the arrow ready to fly, but there’s no other sound.  Peeta peers through the rocks and then gives a whoop.  Before I can stop him, he’s out in the rain, then handing something in to me.  A silver parachute attached to a basket.  I rip it open at once and inside there’s a feast- fresh rolls, goat cheese, apples and best of all, a tureen of that incredible lamb stew on wild rice.  The very dish I told Ceasar Flickerman was the most impressive thing the Capitol had to offer.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, Katniss, p 302

I always liked the idea of this stew!  For so many reasons, because it is the only thing Katniss likes about the Capitol, because Katniss and Peeta eat it in their little cave, because I just really like stew and if I was starving I would want stew.

I really liked the stew.  There were not a lot of dried plums and they added a nice sweetness.  It was really thick.  Next time, I will use beef, to make it less expensive.  The lamb was nice, but not worth the extra money.

ALSO, dried plums are prunes, so don’t go crazy looking for dried plums.  Just buy the prunes.

Lamb Stew with Dried Plums

This recipe is adapted from Fictional Food.

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds lamb meat, cubed
  • 3 tablespoons cooking oil
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 32 ounces beef broth
  • 1 cup tomato pulp or 3 tbsp tomato paste
  • 1  sprig rosemary, leaves snipped
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 large carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1/2 cup pepper (which ever you like best)
  • 2 medium potatoes, chopped
  • 1  handful of dried plums cut in half

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 475 degrees F.

2. Heat oil in a skillet and brown lamb meat. Transfer to dutch oven as pieces cook.

3. Sprinkle sugar on browned meat. Cook meat for several minutes on medium high heat to caramelize sugar.

4. Toss meat with flour until well coated. Place pot in oven uncovered for 5 minutes. Toss meat around and cook for another 5 minutes. Reduce oven heat to 350 degrees F.

5. Add approximately 24 ounces of beef broth, tomato pulp, and rosemary. Cover and cook on bottom third of the oven for 1 hour.

6. Taste and season with salt and pepper as needed. Add carrots, peppers and potatoes and more broth if needed.

7. Cover and return pot to oven for another hour. After 30 minutes, add dried plums. Once done, taste and season as needed.

4 thoughts on “The Hunger Games: Lamb Stew with Dried Plums

  1. I love stew and really enjoyed this recipe. I was a bit worried because I hate prunes and thought they were going to ruin the dish, but they really added a nice flavor and didn’t taste bad at all. I think I”m going to try making it again but with beef instead of lamb ( becasue lamb is expensive plus I thought it was a bit tough and perfer beef) and I would also like to try it with dried cherries instead of plums. I love dried cherries and I bet they would complment beef well. I think I would also do a little less meat because it was a very meat heavy stew and add a sweet potato or two instead. Just thought I’d throw in my two cents. =)

Leave a Reply

