The Hunger Games: Hot Chocolate

This is an ongoing series of food related to The Hunger Games, here are the links to the other recipes- Peeta’s raisin nut bread, the bakery bread Katniss and Gale ate in the woods, the Capitol pancakes, lunch with Cinna (chicken in orange sauce), District 11 bread, Mellark’s apple and goat cheese tarts, goose liver and puffy bread, lamb stew and dried plums, cake on fire,

“They call it hot chocolate,” says Peeta.  “It’s good.”

I take a sip of the hot, sweet, creamy liquid and a shudder runs through me.  Even though the rest of the meal beckons, I ignore it until I’ve drained my cup.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, Katniss, p 55

Finally, I fill a plate with rolls and sit at the table, breaking off bits and dipping them into hot chocolate, the way Peeta did on the train.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, Katniss, p 87

I saw the movie last night.  I am always disappointed by the movie based on one of my favorite books.  Certain things are taken out and the creators of the movie imagine things differently than I did.  I need to watch it again and then maybe I will start to understand their vision better and be ok with it.

For my last Hunger Games post, I wanted to make hot chocolate.  In the books Peeta and Katniss drink hot chocolate multiple times.  Katniss talks about waiting to eat breakfast until after she finished all of her hot chocolate.

This is a yummy recipe.  It takes some time and I had a lot of difficulty trying to keep  the heavy cream on top of the chocolate.  I will try again, because it is hot chocolate and it deserves more attention.

Hot Chocolate

This recipe is adapted from Apples for Jam by Tessa Kiros.

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup chopped semisweet chocolate
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 teaspoon confectioners’ sugar

Directions:

1. Heat the chocolate and milk in a heavy-bottom saucepan over medium heat, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon so it doesn’t catch.  Bring it to just below boiling point and whisk with a wire whisk to make sure it is completely smooth.

2. Meanwhile, whisk together the cream and confectioners’ sugar until quite thick but not stiff- just dense enough to sit on top of the hot chocolate.

3. Pour the hot chocolate into cups and gently spoon the cream over the top.

Leave a Reply

