Thyme Mushroom Quinoa Saute

We had snow last week and then this week we are having a heat wave!!  I hope it lasts!  I want all this snow to melt and for spring to come!! I have never had quinoa (keen-wa) before.  In the last week or so, a few friends have mentioned it and I thought I should try it. This recipe has some of my favorite foods; mushrooms, garlic, Parmesan, but at the end of the day it was too bland for me.  If I make this again I will add more spices.

Thyme Mushroom Quinoa Saute

This recipe was adapted from Big Girls Small Kitchen.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 6 white mushrooms, wiped clean and sliced
  • 1/4 teaspoon thyme
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa
  • 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan
  • handful toasted walnuts

Directions:

1. Heat the oil in a frying pan over medium-high heat.  Add mushrooms and cook until almost done.  Next add thyme and garlic, stir.  Next add the cooked quinoa and stir to combine ingredients.

2. Remove from heat and add the Parmesan and walnuts.  Serve!

Leave a comment