#SundaySupper: Tropical Ice Pops

#SundaySupper is a group of bloggers who are on a mission to bring back sunday supper around the family table in every home.  This week the theme is kids in the kitchen!

Aren’t they so cute!!  I don’t have kids, but my mom has a day care.  So I have been around kids all my life.  My first jobs were babysitting and whenever I talk to someone who is nervous around kids, it throws me.  Just because kids have always been a part of my life and I can not imagine what my life would have been like if my mom did not have a day care.

The kids liked making the ice pops.  It was really easy, basically just adding stuff to the blender.  They were so funny.  One of them hates the noise that blenders make and so he wanted to run out of the room.  But we all helped him get over his fear of the blender and eventually he even pushed the button to start the blender.

Also, important side note that I was reminded of the hard way.  Please add all the juice in the bottom of the blender so that it can turn easily and blend.  If too many solid things are in the bottom it will break your blender and you will be forced to get you food processor out. 🙂

We used dixie cups as the mold.  They worked really well.  All you have to do is squeeze a little to get them to pop out.  We had to wait an hour or so to let the ice pops solidify a little before adding the sticks.

Tropical Ice Pops

This recipe is slightly adapted from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups low-fat vanilla yogurt
  • 1 cup sliced mango
  • 8 ounces pineapple chunks, undrained
  • 1 small banana
  • 1 orange, juiced

Directions:

1. Blend yogurt, mango, pineapple chunks with juice, banana, and orange juice in a blender until smooth.  Pour into paper cups and freeze.

2. Put popsicle sticks in the ice pops after about 1 hour, so that they are set.  Freeze for about 4 to 6 hours.

Start your day:

Healthy Snackers:
Main Squeeze:

Sweet Treats:

32 thoughts on “#SundaySupper: Tropical Ice Pops

  1. What fun in the kitchen with those cuties! I learned the hard way too about the liquids being added to the blender…. I love this recipe and can’t wait to have Riley try this…it is one that I know he will love. I am so glad you are part of our #Sundaysupper Movement!

  2. Pingback: Yum Yum Sauce Recipe

  3. Pingback: Mexican Black Bean & Quinoa Burgers with Homemade Guacamole for Kids in the Kitchen #SundaySupper

  4. Pingback: Coconut Chicken and Shrimp for #SundaySupper - Supper for a Steal

  5. Pingback: Self-Crust Coconut Pie for #SundaySupper | Magnolia Days

  6. Pingback: Poblano Mac ‘N Cheese ~ Kids in the Kitchen #SundaySupper! | Juanita's Cocina

  7. Pingback: Carrot Cupcakes for #SundaySupper « Diabetic Foodie

  8. Pingback: Walking Tostada for #SundaySupper

  9. Pingback: Kids in the Kitchen for Sunday Supper

  10. Pingback: Give a Girl a Grill #SundaySupper Edition: Lunie and Mini-me’s Grilled Pizza | Cravings of a Lunatic

  11. Pingback: Whole Wheat Pretzel Dogs for #SundaySupperFamily Spice

  12. Pingback: Mini Corn Dog Muffins – Kids in the Kitchen #SundaySupper

  13. Pingback: #SundaySupper: Grilled Chicken Wings in Sesame Flavors

  14. Pingback: Fresh Cherry Clafoutis for #SundaySupper | The Meltaways

  15. Pingback: Parmesan Corn on the Cob #SundaySupper

  16. My mom always made fruit pops when I was growing up and I can’t wait to do the same for my daughter.

  17. Pingback: #SundaySupper Snack Attack: 3 Healthy Choices for Little Nibblers! | Cindy's Recipes and Writings

  18. Pingback: Chicken Tortilla Bake | Kids in the Kitchen #Sunday Supper | 7-8-2012 | The Foodie Army Wife

  19. Pingback: Bacon Egg and Sausage Breakfast Cups for Kids in the Kitchen | The Daily Dish Recipes

Leave a comment