#Tomatolove: Super Easy Salsa

July is #tomatolove month!!  I am hosting this month!  In the past I participated in #icecreamlove, #pastalove, #berrylove, #greenslove, #chocolatelove.

I love making salsa.  It is normally really easy and so delicious!!  This recipe is no exception.  I have also been trying can.  And salsa is such an easy thing to make that I can focus on the canning.  But I can’t imagine how much I would have to can to keep me in salsa for the whole year!  Wow, I am so impressed by anyone who actually cans everything they need of any staple food item.

I also was able to use my new canning book, Put ‘Em Up! by Sherri Brooks Vinton.  I love this book.  It is organized by type of food and it has a ton of different type of preserving techniques in it.  I can’t wait to share more recipes with you as I learn how to use them all!!

Super Easy Salsa

This recipe is adapted from Put ‘Em Up! by Sherri Brooks Vinton

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup distilled white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 3 pounds tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • 1-2 jalapeno peppers, finely diced
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Directions:

1. Bring the vinegar, sugar, and salt to a boil in a large nonreactive saucepan.  Add the tomatoes, onions, and jalapenos, and return to a boil for 5 minutes.  Add the cilantro and remove from heat.

2. Use the boiling water method to can.  Ladle the salsa into clean, hot half-pint jars, leaving 1/2 inch headspace.  Release trapped air.  Wipe the rims clean; center lids on the jars and screw on jar bands.  Process for 15 minutes.  Turn off heat, remove canner lid, and let jars rest in the water for 5 minutes.  Remove jars and set aside for 24 hours.  Check seals, then store in a cool dark place for up to 1 year.

July is #tomatolove month!

Please join in on the #tomatolove fun by linking up any tomato recipe from the month of July 2012. Don’t forget to link back to this post, so that your readers know to come stop by the #tomatolove event! The twitter hashtag is #tomatolove :).

Here are all the links to my fellow Love Blog hosts!  Check out their recipes!  They look super yummy!!

Cheap Ethnic Eatz

Mis Pensamientos

No One Likes Crumbley Cookies

Oh Cake

Rico sin Azucar

Teaspoon of Spice

That Skinny Chick Can Bake!!!

Vegan Yack Attack

You Made That?

Badger Girl Learns to Cook 

Vegetarian Mamma

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

8 thoughts on “#Tomatolove: Super Easy Salsa

  1. YES. I want to try this, so badly. And the canning. I have a bookmark folder titled “For When I Grow Up” (…), and in it I have a bunch of canning webpages and books. Want to try it out, but I need the apartment space first!

    How spicy did it turn out? I’m sort of on a mango binge, and I was thinking of making a mango salsa.

    • We should totally can some time!!! It was not that spicy. My whole family liked it and they are not fans of spicy food. I would have upped if I was making it just for me. And mango salsa sounds great!!

Leave a comment